top of page

Ask Grey Huffington.. Q&A




Ciera: As an avid reader of GH, you sort of specialize in sweet, powerful, insanely meaningful novellas. Is the new era of Grey Huffington moving towards longer novels/series?


Grey Huffington: Instant gratification has always been the love of my life but as my seasons change, I’m falling head over heels for long, captivating novels that challenge me in ways that I was unsure was possible. I can’t say what the future holds for real, but if I did have a say so then longer books and more series are the new Grey Huffington. I’ll always write shorts, novelettes, and novellas, but with new goals and new heights I want to reach, I don’t think they’ll suffice alone.


Ciera: Are you a planner from beginning to end? Or do you start a project and love the snowball effect a story/world can take on?


Grey Huffington: I hate the snowball effect. My anxiety won’t allow it. I plan from the very first day the idea pops up in my head. My google docs, iPhone notes, voice memos, and notebooks are full of ideas stemming from just a simple thought. It blossoms over time and becomes what #greynation knows as Grey Huffington books. My outlines are extensive, some concluding with at least 20 pages. I have to plan everything out because it helps me get through the book seamlessly when I begin my writing.


Ciera: The GH universe is expanding in 2023, correct? I love Channing but I heard we are moving to Berkeley. Do you believe this new expansion will have readers packing their bags as well? What’s one aspect that will be different?


Grey Huffington: Yes. We’re taking you to the other side of Huffington State. Depending on the type of reader you are, you might stay in Channing. However, you’ll come to Berkeley when you’re ready to have a grand time. Berkeley is a mashup between LasVegas, Houston, and Miami. Channing is a mashup between New York, California, and the suburbs of Dallas.


Ciera: Gaining tons of new readers has to feel amazing. Has the uptick in reviews and reader love been an amazing feeling since releasing the Eisenberg series?


Grey Huffington: Yes. Though I find it hard to enjoy it as much as I’d imagine. I really love the words and I don’t want to get wrapped up in any form of hype. I just want to write the words and give them to you as often as I can. However, I’m beyond thankful for everyone contributing to this new level of success. To show my appreciation, I created the Huffington Awards. It’s my first year creating them, but I wish to continue just to show my appreciation. For the Eisenbergs, I stepped out of my comfort zone and got a little social this year to make sure readers knew that I was thankful. However, I didn’t adapt to the change well. I quickly realized the way I operated didn’t have to adjust to the increase in readers and discomfort wasn’t necessary. With 2023 here, I have every intention of returning to my bubble and only popping my head out to announce new releases.


Ciera: Can you give your readers at least 3 things we can look forward to in the upcoming New Year?


Grey Huffington: Film. Full-length novels. Silence.



READERS QUESTIONS






What made Grey decide to give us the twist that leads into The Domino Effect series?

-@Jalee5areads_


Grey Huffington: The Domino Effect wasn’t originally called that. It was actually an 8-part series that I planned to write in 2023 with 100k+-word books that told the love stories of 8 family members. After Lyric’s success, I realized I wasn’t ready to let the Eisenberg’s go. Even though I hadn’t started Laike’s story, I knew I wasn’t ready. So, I began plotting on how I could intertwine the two series. I changed the last name of the characters and tailored their story to fit the ending of The Eisenberg Effect. It was only write that Liam took the fall for something greater than even I could’ve imagined. I didn’t see another way around it.


What made you write a book about the blind community and what research went behind it?

-@Social_Twerker on As We Learn x Grey Huffington


Grey Huffington: I had an app on my phone just like the one in the story. I’d waited for a call for so long and kept almost answering one on time. When I finally got my first call, it was from an older man who needed help figuring out what cans he was touching in the cabinet. We ended up on the phone for about ten minutes just talking about random things like where we’re from, etc. When I ended the call, I was so happy that I’d finally helped a visually impaired person. The storyline quickly came to mind. Only I thought, what if this man was fine on the other end? And, what if the conversation was about more than where we were from? Then, what if we met in person? It blossomed from there.


What inspired the iconic (in my eyes anyways) line “I love you, always?”

-@Young_Author07


Grey Huffington: I just felt as if I love you, too wasn’t enough to showcase the depth of the Eisenberg’s love for one another. I needed something more. Also, it was created to support the character development of Laike and Luca. They weren’t soft by far. I love you, too, was just too mushy for them.


What has inspired you the most when it comes to writing Black Romance?

-@shotbyk1


Grey Huffington: Seeing men like Luca and Laike love just as good as men like Wolfe and Jhalil. When you find the right man who is willing to love you down, his occupation won’t ever matter. I wanted to offer diversity in my catalog and show everyone that all men who truly want to are capable of loving a woman the way she should be loved. It doesn’t matter who they are or what they do.


What is/was Grey Huffington’s inspiration?

-@ShadesNPages


Grey Huffington: Sza. All hues of brown. Urban settings. Thick hair and thick thighs. Imperfect people. Black features such as wide noses and big lips. Broken women. Men willing to spend their last on the women they love. And, my person.



Luca, Lyric & Laike available on Amazon now !!

Please Read, Review and tell a friend to tell a friend.

73 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page